From Marrakech to Melbourne

The launch of Mira’s Hand – Authentic Moroccan Skin Care is only a couple of weeks away. There is still so much to do and we are very excited to be so close to launch date, excited but also stressed at times.

And whenever I feel stressed or homesick, I brew myself a pot of Atay be Nana – tea with mint.

No matter where I am, what time it is or the people I am engaging with. As soon as I smell the sweet smell of Moroccan tea I am home, I am good and I am safe.

My Moroccan teapots have travelled the world, some are shiny new and strong, others are old and full of dents. Some are gifts, others I inherited. Some of them have literally travelled from Marrakech to Melbourne with me.

Moroccan mint tea is nicknamed Moroccan Whiskey and is served generally three to four times a day. The tea is also served to all guests as a sign of hospitality.

Recipe for Moroccan Mint Tea

  • Put 3 tbsp. of loose green tea into a teapot – I use Temple of Heaven – China Green Tea – Special Gunpowder (available at your local Chinese store).
  • Add 1 bunch of washed fresh mint to the teapot.
  • Bring 8 cups of water to boil in a separate pan or pot.
  • Pour the water into the teapot.
  • Add ½ cup cup sugar to the teapot and stir until dissolved
  • Allow the tea to steep for 3 minutes on the stove on a low heat. Stir.
  • Serve the tea in Moroccan teacups

Besaha!

2 thoughts on “From Marrakech to Melbourne

  1. Pingback: That squeaky clean feeling | Mira's Hand

  2. Pingback: Amlou – Moroccan style almond butter | Mira's Hand

Leave a Reply

